As “Mr. Cub” Ernie Banks used to say, “Let’s play two.”

Gov. Greg Abbott (R) said he would call a special session this summer to address priority issues that did not pass during the regular session, including Senate Bill 7 by Sen. Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola), the session’s most significant election measure. This special session would precede a September or October redistricting special session.

The bill died after House Democrats broke quorum in the final hour before a procedural deadline would prevent the chamber from approving Senate Bills, but the bill’s sponsors own handling of the bill – including adding 20 pages of provisions not in either chamber’s versions of the bill – so close to that deadline gave Democrats that opportunity.

Runoff Elections: Saturday is runoff election day in Fort Worth, San Antonio and a number of other local jurisdictions. We will have live coverage beginning at 7 p.m. CT.

AG: The National Border Patrol Council endorsed Land Comm. George P. Bush (R) over Atty. Gen. Ken Paxton (R).

Tarrant Co.: The Tim O’Hare (R) campaign announced he has been endorsed by U.S. Rep. Beth Van Duyne (R-Irving). A former mayor of Farmers Branch and a former Tarrant Co. Republican Party chair, O’Hare has previously been endorsed by Tarrant Co. Sheriff Bill Waybourn (R); Reps. Jeff Cason (R-Bedford), David Cook (R-Mansfield), Stephanie Klick (R-Fort Worth), Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth) and Tony Tinderholt (R-Arlington); former Sen. Konni Burton (R-Colleyville); former Reps. Jonathan Stickland (R-Bedford) and Bill Zedler (R-Arlington); Republican Party of Texas chair Allen West; and former state party chairs Cathie Adams and James Dickey.

Incumbent County Judge Glen Whitley has not yet announced whether he would seek re-election. Whitley was first elected in 2011.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC