HD125 special: Gov. Greg Abbott (R) has ordered a special election for February 12 to fill the term of former Rep. Justin Rodriguez (D-San Antonio), who was appointed to the Bexar County Commissioners Court last week. Candidates must file with the Secretary of State by January 14. Early voting begins January 28.

Former Rep. Art Reyna (D-San Antonio) and former San Antonio council member Ray Lopez are thought to be considering the race.

86th Legislature: At noon tomorrow (Tuesday), the Texas Legislature will begin its 140-day regular session. In the House, members are expected to elect Rep. Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton) as Speaker. Today (Monday), the House Republican Caucus elected its leaders for the session. Rep. Dustin Burrows (R-Lubbock) will serve as chair and Rep. Stephanie Klick (R-Fort Worth) as vice chair. Rep. Craig Goldman (R-Fort Worth) was elected secretary and Rep. Dan Huberty (R-Humble) as treasurer.

Dallas: Dallas ISD board member Miguel Solis announced he will run for mayor.

He is at least the sixth candidate to announce for the race, joining real estate developer Mike Ablon, former Dallas Housing Authority chair Albert Black, former Dallas City Attorney Larry Casto, nonprofit executive Lynn McBee and former Hillary Clinton presidential campaign fundraiser Regina Montoya. Mayor Mike Rawlings is term limited.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC