Gov. Greg Abbott (R) ordered an emergency special election for June 30 to fill the unexpired term of former U.S. Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-Corpus Christi), who resigned earlier this month. Candidates must file applications with the Secretary of State by 5 p.m. on Friday. Early voting will begin June 13 and run through June 26. Republican runoff candidates Bech Bruun and Michael Cloud and Democratic runoff candidate Eric Holguin confirmed they would be candidates in the special election. If necessary, a runoff election would be held in September.

Early voting continues for the May 5 uniform and special elections.

HD117: South San Antonio ISD Trustee Connie Prado has ended her independent candidacy for the seat held by Rep. Philip Cortez (D-San Antonio), who still faces Republican Michael Berlanga in the general election.

HD121 open: The San Antonio Express-News reiterated its endorsement of Steve Allison in the Republican runoff over Matt Beebe. The paper endorsed Allison prior to the primary.

CD2 open: The campaign of Rep. Kevin Roberts (R-Houston) released a new ad, “Home,” focused on Roberts’s faith and its importance in his life.

CD7: The campaign of Lizzie Pannill Fletcher released a new ad, “Ready to Fight Back,” highlighting her legal efforts on behalf of mothers, immigrants and employees.

CD32: Former U.S. Rep. Martin Frost (D-Arlington) and Dallas ISD Trustee Miguel Solis endorsed Colin Allred in the Democratic runoff over Lilian Salerno.

©2018 Texas Election Source LLC