Five filed for the HD125 special election to fill the unexpired term of former Rep. Justin Rodriguez (D-San Antonio), who resigned to accept an appointment to the Bexar Co. Commissioners Court:

  • Steve Huerta (D), a San Antonio social justice advocate
  • Ray Lopez (D), a former San Antonio council member
  • Fred Rangel (R), a San Antonio commercial construction business owner and former State Republican Executive Committee member
  • Coda Rayo-Garza (D), a San Antonio education policy advocate; and
  • Former Rep. Art Reyna (D).

Early voting begins January 28 for the February 12 special election.

HD79 special: Early voting began today (Monday) but totals were not available from the El Paso Co. elections office.

HD108: 2018 Democratic nominee Joanna Cattanach announced she would again challenge Rep. Morgan Meyer (R-Dallas) in 2020. Meyer defeated Cattanch by 220 votes out of more than 78K cast. Meanwhile, Dallas resident Tom Ervin, a Democratic precinct chair, established a campaign committee for the race.

HD145 special: A total of 120 people voted in person today (Monday), the first day of early voting. That is about 0.17% of registered voters, based on the number of registered voters in the district as of the November general election.

Anderson Co.: Sheriff Greg Taylor (R) announced he would not seek re-election in 2020 and endorsed Ginger Lively, his patrol captain, to succeed him. Two other candidates are already in the race.

Dallas: Alyson Kennedy, the Socialist Workers Party’s candidate for president in 2016 (but not in Texas), announced she would run for mayor. Kennedy, a retail employee, moved to Dallas early last year. She is at least the eighth candidate to make a formal announcement. Former Rep. Jason Villalba’s (R-Dallas) announcement is scheduled for tomorrow (Tuesday) morning.

Palmview: Visiting Judge Romeo Flores ruled the city would not have to call a special election because there was no vacancy to fill. Mayor Ricardo Villarreal was unopposed in the November election and listed on the ballot as such, but the Secretary of State’s office opined that he needed to receive at least one vote to be elected.

Temple: Council member Mike Pilkington resigned for “personal reasons.” The council will appoint a replacement who will serve until the May 4 uniform election.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC