GOV: Arlington resident Edward Lee Nash formed a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Gov. Greg Abbott (R). We were unable to determine his occupation and political affiliation definitively.

HD10: Seven Points resident Matt Savino formed a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. John Wray (R-Waxahachie) as a Libertarian.

Steve Toth


HD15: The campaign of former Rep. Steve Toth (R-The Woodlands) released a list of 30 state representatives who have endorsed his campaign, including all members of the House Freedom Caucus.

HD52: Round Rock case manager Cynthia Flores announced she would seek the seat being vacated by Rep. Larry Gonzales (R-Round Rock) as a Republican. Gonzales is expected to endorse her.

HD53: Natalia resident Joe Herrera formed a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. Andrew Murr (R-Junction) as a Democrat.

HD64: Denton recent college graduate Matt Farmer formed a campaign committee and is expected to announce his challenge of Rep. Lynn Stucky (R-Sanger) on the county courthouse steps Tuesday. Farmer will run as a Democrat. Meanwhile, Denton resident Mat Pruneda also formed a campaign committee for the race, likely to run as a Democrat.

HD TBD: Rowlett resident Billy Ingram formed a campaign committee for state representative but did not indicate a district. Much of Rowlett is located in HD113, which is being vacated by Rep. Cindy Burkett (R-Sunnyvale). The rest lies in HD112, which is represented by Rep. Angie Chen Button (R-Richardson). Campaign finance records indicate Ingram contributed to the campaign of Rep. Yvonne Davis (D-Dallas) in 2016.

CD14: Galveston former elections official Bill “Sarge” Sargent established a campaign committee for a potential primary challenge of U.S. Rep. Randy Weber (R-Pearland). Sargent unsuccessfully sought the CD14 Republican nomination for what was then an open seat in 2012, receiving 8% of the vote. He announced his candidacy last month.

CD22: Missouri City IT manager and 2016 Democratic nominee Mark Gibson reauthorized his campaign committee for a third race against U.S. Rep. Pete Olson (R-Sugar Land) as a Democrat. Gibson received 40% of the vote in the 2016 general election. He lost the 2014 Democratic primary, receiving 47% of the vote.

CD32: Former U.S. Dept. of Agriculture official Lillian Salerno formed a campaign committee for a potential challenge of U.S. Rep. Pete Sessions (R-Dallas) as a Democrat. She is at least the 12th person to take a formal step toward running for the Democratic nomination.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC