Turner’s election as mayor of Houston vacates his House seat, triggering a special election. No date has been set. Four candidates filed for the March 1 primary:

  • Houston law professor Randy Bates Jr.
  • Houston university student Jerry Ford Jr., who is the president of TSU Young Democrats
  • Former Houston council member Jarvis Johnson, who ran unsuccessfully challenged U.S. Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-HoustoN) in the 2010 primary (28%); and
  • Houston social worker Kimberly Willis.

Other candidates could file for and win the special election but would not be eligible to serve when the 85th Legislature convenes in January 2017.