Four incumbent House members face exactly two primary opponents: Speaker Joe Straus (R-San Antonio), Rep. Kyle Kacal (R-College Station), Rep. Doug Miller (R-New Braunfels) and Rep. Wayne Smith (R-Baytown). Since 2004, 24 House incumbents have faced exactly two primary opponents, and only 13 of them prevailed without going to a runoff. One incumbent, former Rep. Naomi Gonzalez (D-El Paso), finished third and missed the runoff. The other 10 incumbents were forced into runoffs, where only one prevailed (Rep. J.M. Lozano in 2012).

2014: Reps. Byron Cook (R-Corsicana) and J.D. Sheffield (R-Gatesville) prevailed without a runoff with 59% and 58% of the vote, respectively. Rep. Naomi Gonzalez (D-El Paso) failed to make runoff with 31% of the vote.

2012: Rep. Doc Anderson (R-Waco) prevailed without a runoff, getting 52% of the vote. Rep. J.M. Lozano (R-Kingsville) won a runoff, 54%-46%, after receiving 44% in the primary. Former Reps. Chuck Hopson and Sid Miller lost in runoffs.

2010: Hopson prevailed without a runoff with 61%. Former Reps. Norma Chavez and Derwin Jones lost in runoffs.

2008: Rep. Donna Howard (D-Austin) won her primary with 92% of the vote following a special election victory. Her vanquished opponents did not campaign for the primary. Former Rep. Joe Crabb also won a three-way race without a runoff, taking 55% of the vote.

2006: Rep. Garnet Coleman (D-Houston) and Rep. Charlie Geren (R-Fort Worth) both prevailed without runoffs, taking 89% and 55% of the vote, respectively. Former Reps. Derwin Jones (60%) and Chente Quintanilla (56%) also prevailed without runoffs. Former Reps. Scott Campbell and Al Edwards lost in runoffs.

2004: Former Reps. Robby Cook and Jack Stick prevailed without runoffs, taking 65% and 71% of the vote, respectively. Former Reps. Gabi Canales, Jaime Capelo and Roberto Gutierrez lost runoffs.