Yesterday (Wednesday) was the deadline for state officeholders and candidates to file their January semiannual campaign finance reports, disclosing contributions received and expenditures made between July 1 and December 31, or a shorter period if the campaign committee was formed after July 1.

In this report, we examine the statewide races and the officials not on the ballot in 2022. Led by Gov. Greg Abbott (R) and Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick (R), the state officials not up for re-election greatly out-raised those who are on the ballot. The eight non-judicial statewide elected officials not facing the voters until 2022 or 2024 collectively raised $13.8M during the last half of 2019, and they have a combined $62.3M on hand. The eight statewide incumbents on the ballot in 2020 combined to raise $1.6M, and they collectively have $4.5M on hand.

On the Ballot in 2020

Comm. Ryan Sitton

Comm. Ryan

RRC: Comm. Ryan Sitton (R) raised $481K, spent $155K and has $2.5M on hand. Primary challenger James Wright reported no contributions or cash on hand. Chrysta Castañeda leads the four-way Democratic field with $46K in contributions followed by Kelly Stone’s $25K and former Rep. Roberto Alonzo’s (D-Dallas) $2K.

Judicial: None of the four Supreme Court incumbents on the ballot face primary opposition.

  • Chief Justice Nathan Hecht (R) raised $296K and has $532K on hand. Democrat Amy Clark Meachum raised $139K and has $119K, both outpacing her primary challenger.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC