As runoff elections go, it was a pretty good night to be an incumbent, or a former incumbent. Atty. Gen. Ken Paxton (R) and Railroad Comm. Wayne Christian (R) easily turned aside their challengers to secure nominations for a third and second term, respectively. Paxton routed Land Comm. George P. Bush (R), 68%-32%, and Christian turned away Sarah Stogner (R), 65%-35%.

Bush won only five counties, three of which had 50 or fewer voters. Bush carried Kenedy Co., five votes to one; Loving Co., five votes to two; Sterling Co., 29 votes to 21; Starr Co., 181 votes to 146; and Travis Co., 53%-47%. Paxton carried the other 249 counties. Paxton will face Rochelle Garza (D), who prevailed over Joe Jaworski (D), 63%-37%.

In the LAND open (Likely R) runoffs, Sen. Dawn Buckingham (R-Lakeway) defeated Tim Westley, 69%-31%. She will face Jay Kleberg (D), who defeated Sandragrace Martinez, 53%-47%, in the closest statewide race of the day. Mike Collier (D) defeated Rep. Michelle Beckley (D-Carrollton), 55%-45%, to win a second straight nomination for LTGOV (Lean R). Janet Dudding (D) defeated Ángel Luis Vega, 61%-39%, to win the nomination for COMP (Likely R).

Three of the four legislative incumbents forced into runoffs prevailed, bucking recent history. Prior to tonight (Tues.), just one incumbent in the last 26 years won a runoff after finishing first in the primary by fewer than 10 percentage points over the second-place candidate. All three victorious incumbents did it this year.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2022 Texas Election Source LLC