Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick has established a seven-member Select Committee on Election Security and appointed Sen. Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola) as chair. Patrick named Sens. Brian Birdwell (R-Granbury), Bob Hall (R-Edgewood), Don Huffines (R-Dallas), Joan Huffman (R-Houston), Borris Miles (D-Houston) and Judith Zaffirini (D-Laredo) to the committee.

Patrick gave the select committee this charge:

“In light of recent election irregularities in Texas, review voting security protocols as well as the responsibilities and duties of members of the Electoral College. Specifically, examine the use of electronic voting machines and paper ballots, voting fraud and disenfranchisement occurring inside nursing homes and assisted living facilities, outside interference and manipulation of elections, and the voting requirements of presidential electors. Make recommendations to safeguard the integrity of elections, ensure the confidentiality and security of voting records, and ensure the will of the people is reflected through their ballot and carried out through their presidential electors.”

An additional election-related study was given to the Select Committee on Property Tax Reform. It was charged to “study and recommend ways to enhance voter engagement in local government decisions around budgets and property tax rates through digital media and social media.”

These charges were part of a second “wave” of interim charges released by Patrick today. A first wave, which contained no election-related issues, was released yesterday, the same day Speaker Joe Straus (R-San Antonio) released interim charges for all House committees.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC