Today (Saturday) was runoff Election Day for a number of local jurisdictions across the state.

Dallas: Incumbents Carolyn King Arnold (55%-45%) and Adam Bazaldua (64%-36%) won their runoffs over Maxie Johnson and former council member Kevin Felder, respectively, but incumbent David Blewett was ousted by Paul Ridley, 61%-39%. Jesse Moreno (58%-42%), Jaynie Schultz (54%-46%) and Gay Donnell Willis (54%-46%) won open council seats.

Fort Worth: Mattie Parker won the mayoral runoff over Deborah Peoples, 53%-47%. In one of the day’s closest elections, council member Jungus Jordan was defeated by Jared Williams, 51%-49%, after narrowly leading for most of the night. Williams won the Election Day vote, 54%-46%. Incumbent Kelly Allen Gray was ousted by Chris Nettles, 52%-48%. Leonard Firestone defeated Zeb Pent, 55%-45%, and Elizabeth Beck defeated Fernando Peralta, 62%-38%, to claim open council seats.

San Antonio: Council member John Courage won re-election and a rematch against Patrick Von Dohlen, 54%-46%, but two other incumbents fell. Mario Bravo ousted council member Roberto Treviño, 54%-46%, and Jalen McKee-Rodriguez defeated council member Jada Andrews-Sullivan, 63%-37%. Treviño received 45% of the vote in the May 1 general election and managed to gain just 1 point today. Bravo gained 20 points over the first round. McKee-Rodriguez, a 25-year-old educator, becomes the first openly gay man to be elected to the council.

Teri Castillo (58%-42%) and Phyllis Viagran (60%-40%) won open council seats. Viagran, who will succeed her term-limited sister Rebecca, defeated former Rep. Tomas Uresti (D-San Antonio).

Turnout across the city was 10.4%. Voters in the D10 race between Courage and Von Dohlen comprised 46% of all runoff voters.

Allen: Incumbent council member Lauren Doherty lost her re-election bid to Dave Cornette, 55%-45%. Dave Shafer won an open council seat, 55%-45%, over Philip Brewer.

Arlington: Jim Ross won the mayoral runoff over former council member Michael Glaspie, 54%-46%. Nikkie Hunter won an open council seat, 56%-44%, over Diana Saleh.

Flower Mound: Derek France won the mayoral runoff over Itamar Gelbman, 57%-43%.

Frisco: Angelia Pelham won an open seat, 53%-47%, over Jennifer White.

Grand Prairie: At-large council member Greg Giessner was defeated by Junior Ezeonu, 51%-49%, and incumbent council member Jeff Woolridge lost his re-election bid to Kurt Johnson, 53%-47%.

Little Elm: Council member Curtis Cornelius won the mayoral runoff over Ken Eaken, 54%-46%, to become the city’s first Black mayor.

McAllen: Council member and former Hidalgo Co. Republican Party chair Javier Villalobos edged out council member Veronica Whitacre, 51%-49%, to win the mayoral runoff. Incumbent council member Omar Quintanilla won re-election over Thelma Tamez, 62%-38%. Antonio Aguirre Jr. (58%-42%) and Jose Cabeza De Vaca (56%-44%) won open seats. Turnout for the mayoral runoff was 12.6% of registered voters.

Plano: Incumbent council member Kayci Prince defeated Justin Adcock, 56%-44%. Julie Holmer won an open council seat, 53%-47%, over Chris Robertson.

Slaton: Clifton Shaw won the mayoral election over John Gatica, 62%-38%. Valarie Cubit won an open council seat by 27 votes over Frankie Cisneros (52%-48%).

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC