SD12 open: Rep. Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound) announced he would seek to succeed the retiring Sen. Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound). Rep. Jared Patterson (R-Frisco) is considering the race.

HD65: Lewisville landscaping business owner and 2020 Republican nominee Kronda Thimesch announced she would seek a rematch against Rep. Michelle Beckley (D-Carrollton), who defeated Thimesch, 51%-49%.

HD113: Garland pharmacist Will Douglas announced he would seek a rematch against Rep. Rhetta Bowers (D-Rowlett), who defeated Douglas, 52%-48%, in the 2020 general election.

CD24: Carrollton tax attorney Derrik Gay announced he would challenge U.S. Rep. Beth Van Duyne (R-Irving) as a Democrat.

CD34 open: Brownsville attorney Rochelle Garza established a campaign committee for a potential race to succeed the retiring U.S. Rep. Filemon Vela (D-McAllen) as  a Democrat.

CD37 open: Houston homebuilder Wesley Hunt announced he would run for a West Houston congressional seat and will wait until new maps are drawn before declaring for a seat. His campaign committee was updated for CD37, one of the state’s new districts. Hunt unsuccessfully challenged U.S. Rep. Lizzie Fletcher (D-Houston) in the 2020 general election for CD7 (47%).

Special Session: Gov. Greg Abbott (R) officially called a special legislative session to convene tomorrow (Thursday). “Legislation strengthening the integrity of elections in Texas” was included in the call, as expected.

©2021 Texas Election Source