Today (Tuesday) was runoff Election Day in various local jurisdictions across the state. Early voting for Saturday’s runoff elections, including the SD30 special runoff election, ended today.

Austin: Challenger Mackenzie Kelly ousted incumbent council member Jimmy Flannigan, 52%-48%. Incumbent council member Alison Alter edged out Jennifer Virden, 51%-49%.

College Station: Incumbent council member John Nichols led challenger Craig Regan, 80%-20%, with an unusually large number of mail ballots (relative to the number of votes cast) not yet counted and military ballots not yet returned. It is unclear why the non-military absentee ballots were not counted and included in the early vote totals.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC