Abilene: Anthony Williams (48%) and Robert Briley (46%) advanced to a runoff to succeed Mayor Norm Archibald, who won re-election over Briley three years ago.

Amarillo: Ginger Nelson easily won the mayor’s race with 79% of the vote, and voters elected four new council members in landslides. Elaine Hays defeated incumbent Elisha Demerson, 67%-33% for P1. Freda Powell won open P2 with 76% of the vote. Eddy Sauer won open P3 with 78% of the vote. Howard Smith ousted incumbent Mark Nair, 71%-29%, for P4.

Arlington: Mayor Jeff Williams easily won re-election, 71%-29%. Runoffs will be required for two council districts: Marvin Sutton (44%) vs. Roxanne Thalman (35%) for open D3 and council member Lana Wolff (46%) vs. university student Dakota Loupe (34%) for D5. Runoffs will be held on June 10.

Corpus Christi: Council member Joe McComb won the nine-way special election for mayor outright, claiming 52% of the vote. Former Mayor Nelda Martinez, who lost a re-election bid in November, finished second with 30% of the vote.

Dallas: Most incumbents prevailed, but D4 council member Carolyn King Arnold was defeated by former council member Dwaine Caraway, 53%-47%, who had supported her candidacy to succeed him two years ago. Three incumbents were forced into runoffs: Monica Alonzo (39%), Tiffinni Young (37%) and Erik Wilson (37%). They will face challengers Omar Narvaez (27%), Kevin Felder (24%) and former council member Tennell Atkins (42%), respectively.

In D5, incumbent Rickey Callahan won, 55%-45%, despite losing the Election Day vote to opponent Dominique Torres. In D14, incumbent Philip Kingston easily turned away challenger Matt Wood in one of the city’s most contentious races. Countywide turnout was less than 8%. Runoffs will be held on June 10.

Former Rep. Dee Margo

Former Rep.
Dee Margo

El Paso: Former Rep. Dee Margo (45%) and David Saucedo (24%) emerged from an eight-person field after fewer than 33K residents voted for their next mayor, a 28% decline from 2013. Three council races ended with runoffs, including D2, where incumbent Jim Tolbert will face Alexsandra Rose, and D4, for which Sam Morgan (42%) will meet Shane Haggerty (36%), nephew of former Rep. Pat Haggerty (R-El Paso). In D7, incumbent Lily Limon was ousted by police officer Henry Rivera. Runoffs will be held on June 10.

Fort Worth: Mayor Betsy Price easily won re-election with 70% of the vote. Challenger Brian Byrd upset incumbent Zim Zimmerman, 54%-46%, in D3.

McAllen: Mayor Jim Darling won re-election, 57%-40%, over Othal Brand Jr. Challenger J.J. Zamora beat incumbent council member Trey Pebley, 64%-36%, making him the first incumbent to lose in 20 years.

Mesquite: Former Rep. Robert Miklos (D-Mesquite) ousted incumbent council member Bill Porter, 62%-38%, to win a council seat.

Pasadena: Mayoral candidates Jeff Wagner (39%) and J.R. Moon (18%) advanced to a runoff expected to occur on June 10. Former Reps. Robert Talton (R-Pasadena) and Gilbert Peña (R-Pasadena) finished fourth and seventh with 10% and <2%, respectively. Just 9 votes separated incumbent Bruce Leamon (50.6%) and Steve Halvorson (49.4%)

Plano: Mayor Harry LaRosiliere won a four-way race outright with 52% of the vote. Runoffs will be needed to settle two council races: Anthony Ricciardelli vs. Ann Bacchus for P2 and incumbent David Downs vs. Rick Smith for P8. Runoffs will be held on June 10.

San Angelo: Voters elected their first-ever female mayor. Brenda Gunter received 65% of the vote. Tony Villarreal, the former mayor of Fort Stockton, finished a distant second with 19% of the vote.

San Antonio: Mayor ivy Taylor (42%) and council member Ron Nirenberg (37%) advanced out of a 14-candidate field to a June 10 runoff. Bexar Co. Democratic Party chair Manuel Medina was a distant third at 15%. In D7, challenger Ana Sandoval ousted imcumbent Cris Medina, 51%-36%. Three other incumbents – Shirley Gonzales, Rey Saldaña and Rebecca Viagran – won outright. The other six council races ended in runoffs:

  • Roberto Trevino (49%) vs. Michael Montano (31%) for P1
  • Alan Warrick II (41%) vs. Cruz Shaw (29%) for P2
  • Greg Brockhouse (36%) vs. Melissa Havrda (21%) for P6.
  • Cynthia Brehm (33%) vs. Manny Palaez (27%) for P8
  • Marco Barros (25%) vs. John Courage (22%) for P9; and
  • Ezra Johnson (22%) vs. Clayton Perry (22%) for P10.

In the P6 race, Havrda finished just 28 votes ahead of third-place finisher Rick Treviño. Runoffs will be held on June 10.