A pair of Galveston city council members were defeated as several local jurisdictions held runoff elections today to settle races left unresolved after the May 7 uniform election. Notable runoff election results from tonight include:

  • Dallas ISD Trustee D2 – Dustin Marshall defeated Mita Havlick by 42 votes
  • Dallas Community College Trustee D3 – Dorothy Zimmermann defeated Tommy Reed, 57%-43%
  • Dallas Community College Trustee D4 – Monica Lira Bravo defeated Martha Jo Talbot, 57%-43%
  • Frisco City Council P2 – Shona Huffman defeated Terri Green, 65%-35%
  • Frisco City Council P4 – Bill Woodward defeated Cindy Asche, 56%-44%
  • Galveston City Council D1 – Amy Carmen Bly defeated incumbent Tarris Woods, 54%-46%
  • Galveston City Council D3 – Frank Maceo defeated incumbent Ralph McMorris, 53%-47%
  • Keller City Council P3 – Ed Speakmon defeated Mitch Holmes, 54%-46%
  • Lake Dallas City Council P1 – Megan Ray defeated Karl Hammond, 67%-33%
  • Pearland Council P6 – Trent Perez defeated Monica Russo, 56%-44%.

Empower Texans endorsed Asche, Marshall and Zimmerman. Marshall was also endorsed by Reps. Rafael Anchia (D-Dallas), Morgan Meyer (R-Dallas), Kenneth Sheets (R-Dallas) and Jason Villalba (R-Dallas), as well as former Dallas Mayor Ron Kirk and current Mayor Mike Rawlings.

Annie’s List, Dallas Mayor Mike Rawlings, Dallas Co. Judge Clay Jenkins and Reps. Roberto Alonzo (D-Dallas) and Rafael Anchia (D-Dallas) endorsed Bravo.

Early voting is underway for one final round of runoff elections set for June 25.