Today (Friday) was the deadline for candidates to file for most municipal and other local offices on the May 6 uniform election ballot. A few local jurisdictions have other deadlines. In general, candidates have one week to withdraw from their respective races after the filing deadline.

Amarillo: Council member Randy Burkett decided not to seek re-election. Charles Sauer and Clarence Thomas Warren II are the only filed candidates for the seat. Overall, three seats are now open including the mayor’s. The mayoral candidates are Renea Dauntes, James Lowder and Ginger Nelson.

Dallas: Eleven of the 14 council races are contested, including every district south of the Trinity River, although several candidates have not yet been qualified by the city secretary. We will take a closer look at the Dallas council races next week.

Fort Worth: Mayor Betsy Price and six incumbent council members face contested elections. Only incumbent council member Gyna Bivens is unopposed, and four candidates are vying for the seat being vacated by longtime council member Sal Espino.

Frisco: Tomorrow (Saturday) is the special election to fill the unexpired P1 term on the city council. Nine candidates are running including former council member and HD33 candidate John Keating.

San Angelo: Four have filed to succeed outgoing Mayor Dwain Morrison, who opted not to seek re-election, and two of the three council seats on the ballot are contested. The four mayoral candidates are Charlotte Farmer, Brenda Gunter, Zachary Taylor and Tony Villarreal.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC