Tomorrow (Friday) is the deadline for candidates to file for most municipal and other local offices on the May 6 uniform election ballot. A few local jurisdictions have other deadlines. In general, candidates have one week to withdraw from their respective races after the filing deadline.

Beaumont: Mayoral challenger Hani Tohme has been disqualified by the city attorney and city clerk for failing to register to vote in Beaumont in a timely manner. His candidacy was challenged by Mayor Becky Ames, who is seeking re-election, after it was determined that Tohme registered to vote at an address in Beaumont about three weeks ago. That registration would not become effective until after the filing deadline, which would disqualify him under Section 141.001, Texas Election Code. No other candidate has filed against Ames.

To access this post you need a TX Elects Subscription.


FOR JUST $19.99 A MONTH OR $199.99 A YEAR