Filing for local offices on the November 2017 ballot continues through August 21.

Edinburg: Council member and Mayor Pro Tem J.R. Betancourt announced he would not seek re-election. He is the second incumbent not seeking re-election. Council member Richard Molina is challenging Mayor Richard Garcia in the November election.

Howardwick: The city council has called a November special election to fill the unexpired terms of former Mayor Mike Rowland and council member Sam Grider, who resigned last month. They and another city official stepped down following a reportedly heated council meeting during which a group of two dozen citizens accused them of breaking promises, stealing and taking God out of the picture. Howardwick is a city of about 400 people located in Donley Co.

Lamesa: A total of 40 people have voted early in person for Saturday’s special election to fill the unexpired term of a council seat. Three candidates – Jamie Garcia, Rick Moreno and Cindy Sweet – and a write-in candidate are on the ballot. The election was caused by the resignation of council member Fabian Rubio, who lost his bid for another council seat in May.

Rowlett: Early voting is underway for the August 26 special election that will elect a new mayor and three council members. Twelve people have filed for the positions, including five for mayor, of which three are incumbent council members who are giving up their seats. Former Mayor Todd Gottel resigned to become a candidate for Dallas Co. Commissioner.

Wichita Falls: Council member Deandra Chenault filed for re-election, joining council member Eric West. A third council member, Michael Smith, is term-limited.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC