Today (Tuesday) was Election Day across Texas as voters decided the fate of eight constitutional amendments, filled an unexpired House term, elected local officials and judged various charter amendments, local propositions and bond measures. All eight constitutional amendments were passing comfortably at press time.

Former Rep. John Lujan (R-San Antonio) repeated his past special runoff election success, edging out Frank Ramirez (D), 51%-49%, and once again flipping the seat to the Republicans. Lujan won a 2016 special runoff election over Tomás Uresti, 52%-48%, but he went on to lose the general election to Uresti. Lujan’s bid for a full term this time comes in a district we rate as Toss Up.

Ramirez had a narrow lead after early voting thanks to a 72%-28% advantage in absentee ballots. Lujan received 55% of the in-person early vote and went to to receive 55% of the Election Day vote. Turnout in HD118 was 11% of registered voters.

Austin: Voters rejected Proposition A, which would have set a minimum standard for police staffing, 31%-69%,

College Station: Council members Elizabeth Cunha and Dennis Maloney were re-elected.

Edinburg: Mayor Richard Molina, who is facing voter fraud charges that he denies from a previous election, will face former city manager Ramiro Garza Jr. in a December 14 runoff. Garza received 37 more votes than Molina but did not get a majority. Voters approved a charter amendment forcing the removal of a city elected official who is indicted on felony charges by a 78%-22% vote. It would not apply to Molina as it is not retroactive.

Mesquite: Council member Dan Aleman won the open mayoral election. Council members Kenny Green and B.W. Smith were re-elected, while council member Tandy Boroughs had a narrow lead at press time.

Midland: At-large council members Spencer Robnett and Michael Trost were ousted by Dan Corrales and Robin Poole. Incumbent Scott Dufford defeated Ross Schumann.

Sherman: Mayor David Plyler won re-election over at-large council member Sandra Melton, 63%-37%. Former council member Kevin Couch’s comeback bid versus Henry Marroquin came up 11 votes short, and 163 people who cast ballots in the district did not vote in this race.

Texarkana: Mayor Rob Bruggeman won re-election over former council member Brian Matthews.

Wichita Falls: Council members Michael Smith and Bobby Whiteley were re-elected. Larry Nelson won an open council seat.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC