This post had been updated to reflect Gov. Abbott’s subsequent actions on these bills.

The 85th Legislature, Regular Session has adjourned sine die. While there are rumors of a special session in the air, one is not likely to include election-related issues. Redistricting has already been taken off the table, according to a recent court filing in the ongoing litigation over the state’s congressional and House maps.

Here we explore the fate of election-related issues we highlighted two weeks ago:


Voter ID: The House adopted the conference committee report for Senate Bill 5, the Voter ID fix, on Sunday by a near party-line, 92-56 vote, following the Senate’s approval on Friday. The bill heads to Gov. Greg Abbott’s desk. No House Democrats voted for the conference committee report, and Rep. Briscoe Cain (R-Deer Park) was shown voting no. Sen. Eddie Lucio Jr. (D-Brownsville) was the lone Democrat to vote for the bill in the Senate, and he signed the conference committee report. The bill now goes to Gov. Greg Abbott.

Update: Gov. Abbott signed the bill into law on June 1.

Rep. Ron Simmons

Rep. Ron

Single-punch Voting: On May 20, the House concurred in the Senate’s amendment to House Bill 25 by Rep. Ron Simmons (R-Carrollton), sending the measure to Gov. Abbott’s desk. The bill would end the practice of voting for all of a party’s candidates using a single punch, mark or other action. Sen. Kelly Hancock (R-North Richland Hills), the bill’s Senate sponsor, added an amendment delaying implementation until 2020, and it was the amendment the House voted to accept.

The unofficial final vote was 89-45 in favor of concurring. The ayes included several Democrats and Republicans who opposed the measure earlier this month. Democratic Reps. Ina Minjarez (D-San Antonio), Rene Oliveira (D-Brownsville), Mary Ann Perez (D-Houston), Joe Pickett (D-El Paso), Richard Raymond (D-Laredo), Shawn Thierry (D-Houston), Senfronia Thompson (D-Houston) and Hubert Vo (D-Houston) voted for concurrence. Of those representatives, only Pickett previously voted for the bill.

Reps. Giovanni Capriglione (R-Southlake), Lance Gooden (R-Terrell), Jason Isaac (R-Dripping Springs), Stephanie Klick (R-Fort Worth), Larry Phillips (R-Sherman), Mike Schofield (R-Katy) and Jason Villalba (R-Dallas) voted against concurrence. Gooden, Klick, Phillips and Schofield previously voted against the bill.

Update: Gov. Abbott signed the bill into law on June 1.

Note: Jeff Blaylock, publisher of Texas Election Source, is on record as being in favor of House Bill 25.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.