Several local jurisdictions held runoff elections yesterday (Saturday). Early voting concludes Tuesday in Beaumont, Brownsville, Harlingen and other local jurisdictions holding runoff elections on June 19.

Greenville: Terry Thomas won the runoff for a council seat with 80% of the vote, an unusually high percentage for a runoff election.

Killeen: Challenger Michael Boyd ousted D4 council member Steve Harris, 62%-38%, after getting the same number of vote as Harris in the May 1 election.

Lake Jackson: Rhonda Seth defeated former council member Will Brooks, 57%-43%. In 2020, Seth unsuccessfully sought the Republican nomination for open HD25 in 2020, finishing fourth with 20% of the vote.

Lufkin: Wes Suiter leads Kim Odgen by 5 votes for a council seat. Only 7 votes separated the candidates in the May 1 election.

Palestine: Dana Goolsby was elected mayor by 10 votes over Mitchell Jordan.

San Juan: Mayor Mario Garza narrowly survived the runoff against council member Jesus Ramirez, 50.5%-49.5%, a margin of 33 votes. Council member Coach Guajardo won re-election, and Dina Santillan won the remainder of Rameriz’s council term.

Vidor: Council member Misty Songe won the mayoral runoff, 65%-35%.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC