PRES: Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick, who chairs Donald Trump’s campaign in Texas, announced a “Texas Strategic Advisory Board,” which includes former Gov. Rick Perry as honorary co-chairman and several state and legislative leaders:

  • Agriculture Comm. Sid Miller
  • Railroad Comm. Ryan Sitton
  • Railroad Comm. candidate Wayne Christian
  • Donna Campbell (R-New Braunfels) and Lois Kolkhorst (R-Brenham); and
  • Reps. Byron Cook (R-Corsicana), Charlie Geren (R-Fort Worth), Todd Hunter (R-Corpus Christi), Geanie Morrison (R-Victoria), Larry Phillips (R-Sherman) and James White (R-Hillister).

Several business leaders and conservative activists are also part of the advisory board.

Meanwhile, the Secretary of State certified the write-in candidacy of Evan McMullin. He was originally disqualified for failing to file a complete set of electors. One of his electors was deemed ineligible. He refiled with a replacement elector. He becomes the 12th certified write-in candidate for president.

Voter ID: The state formally requested (pdf) the U.S. Supreme Court hear its appeal to the U.S. Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals and lower federal court decisions invalidating portions of the state’s Voter ID law and imposing remedies for the upcoming election. The appeal will not impact the use of those remedies – the ability to vote without required identification by signing a statement of “reasonable impediment” and a state education campaign to inform voters of this ability – for the general election.

Four justices must be willing to hear the case, and five must vote to overrule the lower court’s decision, or the Fifth Circuit’s opinion will stand.

Ethics: Speaker Joe Straus appointed former Rep. Steve Wolens (D-Dallas) to the Texas Ethics Commission to succeed former Comm. Paul Hobby.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.