Number of sitting state representatives to win a statewide race since 1990.

It’s been three decades since a House member last won statewide office. Then Reps. Dan Morales (D-San Antonio) and Rick Perry (R-Haskell) won their races for Attorney General and Agriculture Commissioner, respectively. Since then, eight House members (bolded below) have lost races for statewide office.

Reps. Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth) and James While (R-Hillister) are running for those same offices, respectively.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC