Number of days the Texas House of Representatives has had 150 members since the 84th Legislature convened on January 13, 2015, out of 563 days. Just two of those 101 days occurred while the House was in session. The HD120 special runoff election will once again bring the House to 150 members once the winner has been sworn into office (assuming no one leaves office before then).

House Resignations and Oaths of Office During This Legislature

January 13, 2015 – House convenes with vacancies in HD13 and HD123, swears in 148 members
January 14, 2015 – Tim Kleinschmidt resigns, creating vacancy in HD17 (147 members)

March 2, 2015 – John Cyrier is sworn in as new HD17 representative (148 members)
March 3, 2015 – Leighton Schubert and Diego Bernal are sworn in as new HD13 and HD123 representatives, bringing House to 150 members

2 days with 150 members

March 5, 2015 – Jose Menendez resigns to be sworn in as senator, creating vacancy in HD124 (149 members)

April 30, 2015 – Ina Minjarez is sworn in as new HD124 representative (150 members)

99 days with 150 members

August 6, 2015 – Joe Farias resigns, creating vacancy in HD118 (149 members)
January 1, 2016 – Sylvester Turner resigns to become Mayor of Houston, creating vacancy in HD139 (148 members)
January 31, 2016 – Ruth Jones McClendon resigns, creating vacancy in HD120 (147 members)

February 9, 2016 – John Lujan III sworn in as new HD118 representative (148 members)
May 19, 2016 – Jarvis Johnson sworn in as new HD139 representative (149 members)
August ??, 2016 – A new HD120 representative will be sworn in, bringing the House to a full complement of 150 members, assuming no one leaves the House before then

No tags for this post.