Number of incumbent statewide officials, legislators and members of the Texas congressional delegation facing two or more primary opponents in 2018, the highest number for any election year since at least 1996. An additional 19 open seats — 1 statewide, 10 House and 8 congressional – could see a runoff for the nomination of the party currently holding the seat.

Having multiple primary opponents creates the possibility of a primary runoff election, and runoffs have historically been dangerous propositions for legislative and congressional incumbents.

Since 1996, 110 incumbents seeking re-election to statewide office, the Texas Legislature and the Texas Congressional delegation have faced two or more primary opponents. The experiences of those incumbents vary significantly between state and federal offices.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2018 Texas Election Source LLC