Runoffs continued to be dangerous places for incumbents on Saturday as voters in a handful of local jurisdictions settled the last few races left undecided by the May 4 elections:

In Brownsville, Trey Mendez won the open mayoral runoff, 59%-41%, over Charlie Cabler. Incumbent Mayor Tony Martinez failed to make the runoff. John Cowen Jr. defeated Jessica Puente Brandshaw, 60%-40%, to win an at-large seat on the council. He was just three votes short of winning outright in May. Challenger Nurith Galonsky Pizana defeated incumbent D1 council member Ricardo Longoria Jr., 54%-46%.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC