Nearly two dozen candidates filed for the May 1 special election to fill the unexpired term of the late U.S. Rep. Ron Wright (R-Arlington) by today’s deadline. The field includes 11 Republicans, 10 Democrats, a Libertarian and an independent candidate. Our Crib Sheet has been updated to reflect the final field.


  • Michael Ballantine (R), Arlington educator who unsuccessfully sought the Green Party’s 2012 presidential nomination
  • John Anthony Castro (R), Mansfield tax attorney who formed campaign committee for a 2020 primary challenge of U.S. Sen. John Cornyn (R) but did not file
  • Mike Egan (R), Arlington financial executive
  • Jake Ellzey (R-Waxahachie), who was elected to his first House term in November after losing the 2018 Republican runoff to Wright, 52%-48%

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC