Thirty-eight Dallas residents filed for the 14 city council positions on the May 6 uniform election ballot, including all 14 incumbents. Three of those incumbents – Jennifer Staubach Gates, Sandy Greyson and Adam McGough – are unopposed. For Greyson, this is the third straight election she has run unopposed, and it is the second straight cycle that  Gates has been unopposed.

Mayor Mike Rawlings was elected to a four-year term in 2015 and thus is not up for re-election this year.

Below we take a look at the candidates, concentrating on their prior service to city of Dallas boards and commissions and past campaigns.

Subscribers can read about the candidates for each seat.