HD65: Former Rep. Ron Simmons (R-Lewisville) announced he would not seek his former seat or run for another office in 2020. Simmons said Lewisville landscaping business owner and two-term Lewisville ISD board member Kronda Thimesch would have his “full support and backing” if she were to challenge Rep. Michelle Beckley (D-Carrollton). Thimesch announced she has formed an exploratory committee for the race. A Republican precinct chair, Thimesch was elected to the Lewisville ISD board in 2015 and re-elected last year.

HD90: Fort Worth resident Elva Camacho established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. Ramon Romero (D-Fort Worth) as a Republican. She would be the first Republican to seek the seat since 2010.

HD132: Gov. Greg Abbott (R) and Hispanic Republicans of Texas endorsed Republican challenger Angelica Garcia over Rep. Gina Calanni (D-Katy).

CD22 open: Katy resident Matt Hinton established a campaign committee for a potential run for the seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Pete Olson (R-Sugar Land) as a Republican. We were unable to identify him conclusively.

Republican Party Chair: Former U.S. Rep. Allen West (R-Fla.) officially launched his challenge of incumbent Republican Party of Texas chair James Dickey. West previously established an exploratory committee for the race after deciding not to run for CD32.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC