SD14 special: Austin attorney Adam Loewy announced he would not seek the seat vacated by former Sen. Kirk Watson (D-Austin). Austin physician Jeffrey Ridgeway established a campaign committee for the race. Rep. Eddie Rodriguez (D-Austin); former Lago Vista council member Pat Dixon, as a Libertarian; and Austin Attorney Waller Burns II, as an independent, have filed for the July 14 special election. Travis County Judge Sarah Eckhardt has announced for the seat, triggering the constitutional resign-to-run provision. Former Austin council member Don Zimmerman is considering the race, and Austin council member Greg Casar recently announced he would not seek the seat.

Wednesday is the deadline for candidates to file with the Secretary of State.

SEN: Former Houston council member Amanda Edwards, who finished fifth in the 12-way Democratic primary, endorsed Sen. Royce West (D-Dallas) in the runoff over M.J. Hegar. NARAL Pro-Choice America endorsed Hegar.

CD3: U.S. Rep. Marc Veasey (D-Fort Worth) endorsed Lulu Seikaly in the Democratic runoff over Sean McCaffity. Veasey is a regional vice-chair for the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee.

Harris Co.: County Clerk Diane Trautman is resigning effective May 31, just 16 months into her four-year term. “Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, my age and underlying health issues, I do not feel I can safely continue to carry out my duties,” she said in a statement. The Harris Co. Commissioners Court will appoint an interim clerk to serve until voters elect Trautman’s successor.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC