HD145 open: Libertarian Clayton Hunt, who received 10% of the vote in the general election against Rep. Carol Alvarado (D-Houston), established a CrowdPAC page for the race.

Hays Co.: Jimmy Alan Hall, the Democratic nominee for county commissioner P3 has sued to contest his 37-vote loss to Republican Lon Shell. Hall’s suit claims voters were given the wrong ballots when they came to vote.

Kleberg Co.: Six months after the Democratic runoff election for Justice of the Peace P4 was voided, a visiting judge has ordered a new election for February 12. Incumbent Cheque De La Paz won the May runoff by six votes over Ofie Gutierrez, but Judge Joel Johnson ruled that at least seven voters tied to De La Paz did not live in the district. An appeals court affirmed Johnson’s ruling.

Laredo: Mayor Pete Saenz won the runoff election over Roque Vela Jr., 64%-36%, and incumbent council member Vidal Rodriguez won another term, 53%-47%, over Jose Perez III. Mercurio Martinez (57%-43%) and Marte Martinez (55%-45%) won open council seats.

Plano: Council member Angela Miner announced she would not seek re-election.

San Antonio: Council member Cruz Shaw announced he would resign effective January 7 to accept an appointment to the 436th District Court. He was first elected in June 2017. Meanwhile, term-limited council member Rey Saldaña announced he would not run for mayor in May and would instead work for an education non-profit.

Every Vote Counts: A race for city council in Hoxie, Ark., ended in a tie when one of the candidates failed to vote for himself. Cliff Farmer was late returning from a business trip and arrived in Hoxie after polls closed. The tie was resolved by a roll of the dice. Farmer rolled a four, but incumbent Becky Linebaugh rolled a six, clinching her re-election.

©2018 Texas Election Source LLC