On the eve of a Republican Caucus retreat in Austin, calls for Speaker Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton) to resign have grown from within his party.

Rep. Kyle Kacal

Rep. Kyle

Rep. Drew Darby

Rep. Drew

Today (Thursday), Reps. Drew Darby (R-San Angelo) and Kyle Kacal (R-College Station) said new leadership was required. “It is time for the House to begin to heal and rebuild trust,” Darby said in a statement. “That can only be accomplished when Speaker Bonnen … [is] no longer in leadership.” Kacal said in a statement, “It is in the best interest of the Texas House to take action to regain the trust of the body … under new leadership.”

Other Republican members who have explicitly said the Speaker should resign include Reps. Trent Ashby (R-Lufkin), Kyle Biedermann (R-Fredericksburg), Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound), Phil Stephenson (R-Wharton), Matt Schaefer (R-Tyler), Tony Tinderholt (R-Arlington) and Steve Toth (R-The Woodlands).

By late afternoon, Reps. Doc Anderson (R-Waco), Stan Lambert (R-Abilene) and John Raney (R-Bryan) also called for Bonnen to step down. Several Democrats have also called for Bonnen’s resignation.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC