CD23: 2018 Democratic nominee Gina Ortiz Jones announced she would seek a rematch against U.S. Rep. Will Hurd (R-San Antonio). Jones lost to Hurd, 49.2%-48.7%, in the general election after out-raising the incumbent, $5.2M to $3.6M, and outspending him, $5.9M to $5.1M. Those spending figures do not include the more than $8.5M in independent expenditures made for the race.

CD31: Leander physician Christine Mann reauthorized her campaign committee for a potential challenge of U.S. Rep. John Carter (R-Round Rock) as a Democrat. Mann lost the 2018 Democratic runoff to M.J. Hegar, 62%-38%

SEN: Former U.S. Rep. Chris Bell (D-Houston) said he was “definitely interested” in challenging U.S. Sen. John Cornyn (R). Bell, who served on the Houston city council for four years, received less than 30% of the vote in the 2006 gubernatorial election.

HD47: Former Austin council member Don Zimmerman and Spicewood resident Jennifer Fleck established campaign committees for potential challenges of Rep. Vikki Goodwin (D-Austin) as Republicans. Zimmerman, who unsuccessfully sought the 2006 Republican nomination for HD50, has been exploring the race for about three weeks.

HD68: Rotan resident Andrew Nelson established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. Drew Springer (R-Muenster).

Brownsville: On Thursday, the city council is expected to set a runoff election for June 22. The mayoral runoff pits former city manager Charlie Cabler against Texas Southmost College board member Trey Mendez. Incumbent Tony Martinez missed the runoff. D1 council member Ricardo Longoria faces Nurith Galonsky, and an open at-large race puts John Cowen against Jessica Puente-Bradshaw, who lost a 2012 race for CD34 to Filemon Vela, 62%-36%.

Dallas: Mayor Mike Rawlings and seven city council members endorsed Rep. Eric Johnson (D-Dallas) for the mayoral runoff. Those council members were Carolyn King Arnold, Tennell Atkins, Ricky Callahan, Jennifer Staubach Gates, Lee Kleinman, Adam McGough and Casey Thomas. Johnson’s opponent, council member Scott Griggs, has been previously endorsed by council members Sandy Greyson, Adam Medrano and Omar Narvaez. Johnson was also endorsed by former Sen. John Carona (R-Dallas).

Meanwhile, in the D9 runoff, third-place finisher Sarah Lamb (15%) endorsed Paula Blackmon (37%) over Erin Moore (31%).

Palestine: For the second time in as many years, a city council race ended tied and will go to a June 8 runoff. Incumbent D4 council member Joseph Baxter and former council member Joseph Thompson each received 112 votes. Last year, then-incumbent D5 council member Doug Smith tied challenger Dana Goolsby with 77 votes each. Goolsby won the runoff.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC