U.S. Rep. Will Hurd (R-San Antonio) announced he would not seek re-election, becoming the third Republican member of Congress from Texas to do so.

U.S. Rep. Will Hurd

U.S. Rep.
Will Hurd

“I have made the decision to not seek re-election for the 23rd Congressional District of Texas in order to pursue opportunities outside the halls of Congress to solve problems at the nexus between technology and national security,” Hurd said in a statement. “It was never my intention to stay in Congress forever, but I will stay involved in politics to grow a Republican Party that looks like America.”

CD23 was 4 points bluer than the state as a whole in 2018, and the average statewide Democrat received just over 50% of the vote measured head-to-head against the Republican candidate. Hillary Clinton won the district over Donald Trump, and Beto O’Rourke carried it over U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R), 52%-47%. Hurd slightly over-performed the Republican ticket and was narrowly re-elected, 49.2%-48.7%, over Democratic nominee Gina Ortiz Jones, who is running again in 2020. Hurd has not received at least 50% of the vote in any of his three general election victories.

Hurd is the lone African-American Republican serving in the U.S. House. “Two centuries ago, I would have been counted as three-fifths of a person, and today I can say I’ve had the honor of serving three terms in Congress,” Hurd said. “I will keep fighting to remind people why I love America: that we are neither Republican nor Democrat nor Independent. We are better than the sum of our parts.”

San Antonio retired Navy cryptologist Tony Gonzales II, who is currently running against U.S. Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-Austin) in CD35, tweeted that he will “prayerfully consider” running for CD23 instead. Two other Republicans are already in the race: Concan dentist Alma Arredondo-Lynch, who received 20% of the vote against Hurd in the 2018 Republican primary, and Castroville resident Paul Reyes Jr. At least four Democrats are already in the race.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC