GOV: Austin Democratic Party activist Garry Brown established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Gov. Greg Abbott (R) as a Democrat. Brown ran unsuccessfully for Travis Co. Commissioner in 2014, receiving 14% of the vote in a three-way primary.

Rep. Ryan Guillen

Rep. Ryan

Judge Ana
Lisa Garza

HD31: 229th District Judge Ana Lisa Garza has resigned and announced she would challenge Rep. Ryan Guillen (D-Rio Grande City) in the Democratic primary. Guillen, who intends to seek re-election, has not faced a primary opponent since his initial election to the House in 2002. “I have made the very difficult decision of leaving this job that I love in order to continue to serve you in a position where I know I can speak for all of you,” she said in a statement. Garza has served JD229 – comprised of Duval, Jim Hogg and Starr Cos. – since her election in 2010. She was re-elected in 2014.

HD85: Rep. Phil Stephenson (R-Wharton) announced he would seek re-election.

HD113 open: Rowlett resident Billy Ingram’s campaign committee filing has been updated to indicate he would run in HD113, the seat being vacated by Rep. Cindy Burkett (R-Sunnyvale).

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.