This report has been updated since our Breaking News alert.

Sen. Pat Fallon (R-Prosper) will replace former U.S. Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-Heath) as the Republican nominee for CD4. He won a majority vote of the district executive committee on the first ballot. His nomination was supported by 82 of the 144 delegates attending the meeting in Sulphur Springs. U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R) stumped for Fallon prior to the vote.

Twelve candidates had their names placed into nomination. Jason Ross, Ratcliffe’s former district director, finished second with 34 votes, followed by Atlanta Mayor Travis Ransom with 16 votes. Late endorsements by conservative groups Grassroots America We the People and Young Conservatives of Texas did not help Aaron Harris. The former head of Direct Action Texas received 5 votes. No one else received more than two votes.

There is no residency requirement to seek or hold congressional office, permitting Fallon to seek the seat.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC