HD28 special: Former Vice President Joe Biden endorsed Eliz Markowitz.

HD92 open: Texas Right to Life PAC endorsed Jeff Cason to succeed the retiring Rep. Jonathan Stickland (R-Bedford).

HD127: Texans for Lawsuit Reform PAC endorsed Rep. Dan Huberty (R-Humble) for re-election.

PRES: Former San Antonio Mayor and presidential candidate Julián Castro endorsed Elizabeth Warren for the Democratic nomination.

Meanwhile, Gov. Greg Abbott (R) was one of seven polled individuals for whom at least 10% of Republican respondents said they “would consider voting for in the 2024 general presidential election,” according to an Axios online national poll conducted in mid-December. Abbott (13%) was tied with Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, just behind Ivanka Trump (16%) and Marco Rubio (15%). Vice President Mike Pence (40%), Donald Trump Jr. (29%) and Nikki Haley (26%) were the top theoretical candidates.

CD11 open: The campaign of J. Ross Lacy released a new ad, “Won’t Apologize,” highlighting his desire to fight for West Texas.

Texas Right to Life PAC endorsed Jamie Berryhill to succeed the retiring U.S. Rep. Mike Conaway (R-Midland). Rep. Drew Darby (R-San Angelo) endorsed Austin Pfluger.

CD12: Texas Right to Life PAC endorsed primary challenger Chris Putnam over U.S. Rep. Kay Granger (R-Fort Worth).

CD22 open: Concerned Women for America LAC endorsed Kathaleen Wall to succeed the retiring U.S. Rep. Pete Olson (R-Sugar Land).

CD23 open: Texas Right to Life PAC endorsed Raul Reyes to succeed the retiring U.S. Rep. Will Hurd (R-San Antonio).

Voting Rights Suit: The Texas Democratic Party and national Democratic campaign committees filed a federal suit challenging the Secretary of State’s requirement that registration applications must have an original signature. The suit arose from a 2018 decision to reject more than 2,400 voter registration applications that were filed using an online registration site. The site produced paper forms that were sent to county registrars, but they lacked an actual signature from the prospective voter.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC