HD125 special: Tomorrow (Tuesday) is the special runoff election for the seat vacated by former Rep. and current Bexar Co. Comm. Justin Rodriguez (D). Republican Fred Rangel (38%) faces Democrat Ray Lopez (19%). The 18.6 percentage point gap between the runoff qualifiers is the sixth largest for a legislative special election since 1996. Four of the five candidates with larger leads prevailed in the runoff. Turnout for the special election was 6%. In-person early voting turnout for the runoff exceeded the special election’s early vote total including mail ballots. We will have live results beginning at 7 p.m. CDT at txelects.com/live.

Non-citizen Voter Lists: New names of possible non-citizens registered to vote were provided to counties by mistake. The Secretary of State’s office blamed a vendor’s technical error. A federal judge ordered all counties to pause any review of registered voters flagged as possibly being non-citizens. The Secretary of State’s office advised counties to “completely disregard” the new lists.

CD3: Richardson employment specialist Tanner Do established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of U.S. Rep. Van Taylor (R-Plano) as a Democrat. Do unsuccessfully ran for Collin Co. Commissioner P2 (44%) in 2018.

CD24: Mineral Wells nonprofit director Kim Olson, the 2018 Democratic nominee for Agriculture Commissioner, said in a statement that she is “seriously considering” challenging U.S. Rep. Kenny Marchant (R-Carrollton). Mineral Wells is not located in the district. Olson is also reportedly considering a challenge of U.S. Sen. John Cornyn (R).

Fort Worth: Brian Dixon has withdrawn from the D8 council race and endorsed Chris Nettles. Council member Kelly Allen Gray also faces K.L. Johnson.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC